Social skills as research skills?

L

Hi,

Since this is my first post, I thought I’d give a brief intro to myself – I’m a FT social science PhD student in North West England in my late 30s. I’m in my third year – hoping to finish writing soon. It’s been a traumatic experience: isolation, changes in supervisor, writer’s block, stress and trauma – I identify with many of the posts which have been made here. Oh yes!

The specific point I wanted to raise concerns the role of social skills. My social skills aren’t great – I’m pretty reserved and reflective – but before my PhD I worked for 10 years in a job which required a lot of communication, so I must have some skills! However, during my PhD experience I have become increasingly aware of the importance of social skills for research. I find that people who are able to network are capable of getting ‘inferior’ research published or cited and it makes me feel left out in the cold.

More significantly, I have come to think that the whole field that I am working in is based on who you know rather than what you can say. This isn’t good news for me, particularly as my research topic goes against the orthodoxy. It makes me feel that academic life just isn’t worthwhile!

Does anyone one else feel this – how do you deal with it? I wonder if it more the case in arts/ humanities/ social sciences rather than the sciences?

Louisa

S

Hi Louisa

I can relate to what you're saying - I'm also not very outgoing, which is why doing a PhD suits me - am relatively happy most of the time to sit here, with books and articles, reading and writing by myself!

I'm also in the social sciences, and am not sure if the need for networking is more endemic in this area. I find it odd that networking results in getting published - if articles are submitted, then go out for anonymous peer review, how does networking come into this? Or am I being naive?