standard of writing

R

Hi, I'm not sure if this has been covered already (I know there's been some lit review threads recently) but I'm currently writing a lit review that's due before xmas. I'm in my 1st year (started oct) and my sup wants me to write at least 7000 words, which is not too bad as I've already got 5,500 and currently editing those before adding the rest of it. My question is how much did you have to change your writing style to make it 'PhD level'? I've been told by my sup that my writing style is good, but this was at MSc level (he was my MSc tutor). So far I think what I've written is reasonably good but I'm not sure if it's at the right level yet. My sup wants to me to write the review to check I understand my topic as it's in a different field to my MSc dissertation, and to assess my writing style. I think I understand the basic concepts and am hoping that I can demonstrate some understanding of the more complicated things. I'm just wondering how much of a step up is there from good writing at MSc level to good writing at PhD level?

It probably sounds like a silly question but it's been bugging me a bit.

K