Starting Research Career

M

Hi,

I'm looking for any advice people might be able to share regarding the best way for me to begin a bioscience career.

I have a 2:1 BSc degree in biomedical science, and I'm just about to graduate with an MSc in biotechnology - both from a mid-ranking university. I'm 22 years old, I have continuously been in full time education, and I have no significant work experience. My long term career goal is to get into the industrial research and development sector.

Over the last year I have applied for ~10 funded PhD studentships relating to virology. I had 2 separate interviews at a very prestigious university, but was unsuccessful in obtaining either position.

I'm reluctant to keep on applying for more studentships because I would rather wait and eventually get a studentship for a project I'm really interested in at a good university, than lower my sights in the hope of obtaining something which may be somewhere less competitive. Also, I feel that my greatest weakness now is my lack of experience, and worry that by going straight into a PhD this would become even more of a problem afterwards.

Therefore, my current plan is to try to get a job as either a research assistant or research technician. Then, in 2 - 4 years after 1 or 2 different jobs, reapply for PhDs and hopefully get something really exciting.

My question is basically this - do you think I am being reasonable? I have seen quite a lot of job adverts for both research assistants and technicians, but I have heard from several different people that RA jobs are very difficult to obtain, is this true? Also, how much are research technicians generally paid? My primary concern is not money, but ideally I would like a salary of ~£20,000 or more. Do you think this amount is realistic for someone in my situation?

Thank you so much in advance for any help.

Malik.

A