Still can't get a PhD admission...what are your stories?

L

Aaaand another round of rejections for PhD positions. I've been sitting jobless and useless for about 2 years now after my Masters - must've gotten through nearly a hundred PhD applications and rejections. The only other thing I do is publish in my field through some previous colleagues - a feeble attempt to expand my CV, though not that it seems to matter.
I was wondering if you guys know whether a majority of PhD positions are already given out before they are advertised. My experience speaks overwhelmingly in the favor of that hypothesis. I've come to the conclusion that ALL positions are actually written for a Masters/undergrad student already in the prof's lab. So, in essence, its impossible for someone to actually change a university going from Masters to PhD like I want to. Anyone done that? Is there any hope? Anyone here applied for a position at another university from another country and got admitted? Was it an advertised position, or did you work out a proposal?
Anything, really anything would be helpful at this point. At least a good story might lift my spirits a bit - even if its not my story.

H

What field are you in?

FWIW I have been through the PhD application process successfully twice, and was not previously known to the interview panel before I applied. In one case I was accepted onto a 1+3 scheme, in another directly onto a specific PhD project.

Have you had any feedback from any of your applications to date?

L

I'm in electronics engineering - specifically computational electromagnetics.
Well, its good that you got to the interview stage twice...I've never gotten that far. When I apply for a specific project, the "feedback" has always been a rejection ("We received lots of good applications...blahblah...its not you, so sorry, best of luck blahblah").