Student/Supervisor Relationships - how is yours?

B

Just wondered ... what type of relationship do you all have with your supervisor? Can you (for example):

-Email them general (depressive) rants about how much you hate doing the Phd (feel like quitting/giving up/etc)?
-Tell them your research - in the grand scheme of things - means poo?
-Phone them (home/mobile) if you are having problems with work?
-Have meetings in informal settings (go for a coffee/lunch)?
-Spend hours chatting about everything apart from your PhD?
-Tell them that when you complete you plan to burn your work and run away from academia?

Looking forward to reading your comments on this one!

Y

Well, I haven't tried emailing my current PhD supervisor any of my feelings towards PhD. But, I did do so when I did my Master degree (with another supervisor).

I never phone my supervisor....but some of my colleagues do.

Possibly due to language barrier and cultural difference, I haven't had the chance (and the gut) to meet or chat to my supervisor alone. I got nothing to say with him. I'm a bit afraid to leave a bad impression of wasting his time...

What about others?

S

no, no, no, no, no and no.

S

Do you think being able to do those things means you have a GOOD relationship?

S

Yes to everything! I have only just started my PhD this year, but I have the same supervisor that I had for my undergrad. Honours (last year). Personally, I like it this way, and, for me, it works

C