Studying another MSc

M

Dear all,

I would like to start by mentioning that I graduated last year with a Masters in Immunology and have been looking for work since December last year. I recently relocated to new home in London and now I'm thinking about studying for another masters in Molecular Biology, so that I don't have spend the next year doing nothing. I'm Hoping that after I gain the second MSc- with distinction this time- I will apply for a PhD in London with my University.

I would like to know what opinions other people have about this and whether anyone else has had a similar experience in the past.

A

Hi Malsaffar,

Congratulations on a masters in immunology! Personally, I would say think about undertaking a second in another science subject VERY seriously! why do you want to do one, is it just to keep you busy, if so I would go and get work experience for a year and spend the time finding funding for a phD in the meantime! I work in a microbiology lab, and we have a guy who finished PhD two years ago almost after having 2 masters in science subjects and he sadly can't find a job as he has hardly any real work experience except for undergrad, masters, masters, phD and is a bit older now (obviously don't know your age, and it shouldnt be an issue but when 40+ and fighting with 24 year olds for first postdocs I think he finds it tough). Overall he has taken 10 years to complete these + 2 years out of work just doing odd things and trying to write papers.