Supervisor/topic issues

K

I've been working on my PhD for almost 6 months, and I think I have a pretty good idea of where I'm going with it, what's missing in the literature etc. I really like my topic (I hope this enthusiasm lasts!) and I'm excited to see where the research goes. But I need some advice about my supervisor - We met last week, after I sent my proposal, and some background documents a week in advance (sup doesn't really have that much background in my exact issue, but is supposed to be really good on methodology). When we met, he didn't really have that many comments, and the ones he did have made me think that he hadn't really read my proposal, at least not to the end, as much of the stuff he was suggesting was already in there. Some of the other stuff was kind of off the wall - completely different methods (like using photos instead of a survey) or issues that don't seem that relevant. There's not really anyone else I can work with in the department unfortunately, and I'm pretty tied to this location through funding. Does anyone have any advice on how I can get more useful feedback? Thank you!

S

Hi Kezia