Teaching practice & publications

G

I'm in my second year doing a PhD in Linguistics. Was just wondering if anyone has been offered teaching practice in their second/third years and how many publications you’ve got? My supervisor gives very little guidance. I just feel so isolated and lonely at the moment, mainly because he only sees me every 2 months or so and I don’t know any other PhD students. Am just worried that if I want to go into academia employers are going to look, see zero experience and ask what exactly I’ve done for the past 3 years.

G

I think PhD research is a very lonely process no matter how attentive your supervisors are. Can you apply for some part-time lecturing at your institute? I think it would be good to finish your PhD with some teaching experience. I haven't published any papers yet (still on my first year) but I taught undergraduates. My supervisor once mentioned that finishing the PhD with 3 published papers and 1 year teaching experience would be very useful for the future. I'd run a search on google for "call for papers" for next year's publications. Best wishes...

G

I think teaching experience is useful, esp for SocSci and A&H. Maybe try asking around - contact the lecturers that are convening courses you would be interested in teaching, with a CV, asking if they need anyone for next year - that's how I got stuff anyhow. Teaching is a good way of getting to know more people in the department.

G

Teaching is excellent expereince and will provide some structure to your week and some contact with others. At this time of year you should contact your department about tutoring opps next semester.

G