Teaching- VENT ALERT

K

Is anybody else teaching on an incredibly badly organized course?
Since I started I've been left to get on with things with almost zero guidance or input from the course leaders. I was told I had the job a week and a half before term started and I have no teaching experience whatsoever. The classes themselves are fine- it's easy enough to blather on about a novel for an hour and a half. The problem is that the students have assignments coming out of their ears and I'm completely confused about what's due in when and how to mark things.
For example- they have to hand in a formative essay comparison exercise in a couple of weeks time. I only just received some guidelines- yesterday- which explained what this is. It recommended, however, that I take them through this in class and they just hand it in at the end. But the module guide says they must hand them into the school office and they will be handed back with written feedback. How am I meant to give feedback on an assignment we have done together in class?!
They also have to hand in their first 'proper' essay on Monday. As yet, I have no idea when or how I will receive any guidance as to how to mark them. So, I am expected to guide them through the essay comparison exercise- in which they have to give a mark to each essay- without ever having marked an essay myself!

I wouldn't mind any of this if I knew I would at least get an answer when I asked. But I don't. One of the module leaders won't respond at all (and I know he gets my e-mails) and the other takes days. My only hope is to ask other teachers on the module, and whilst they do help, I don't like plaguing them with requests.

Anyway, I was fit to burst before I started writing this and have calmed down slightly now. Sympathetic noises please! ,-)

N

My, I do sympathise. This would drive me nuts.