The best statistic book(s) in your opinion...

Z

Statistics is the biggest problem in my PhD study (first year Psychology), especially when dealing with multivariate statistics. What is (are) the best statistic book (s) you have used for both basic and more advanced statistic skills? I am struggling which book to buy for future reference as well. Any recommedations?
Andy field? Hair et al. ? Tabachnick and Fidell ?

Many thanks!

W

Andy Field in my opinion. If you would like an electronic copy, please send me a pm.

S

I think it depends whethr you've done them before. I'm new to statistics too and need them for my history thesis (yep, lol, ever thought I'd need that!) and I'm hopeless with numbers - add a few letters in too and I'm done! I was given statistics without tears by Derek Rowntree as a starter and am looking for more 'statistics for dummies' type books to get me in, particularly as I only need a fairly basicish grounding in it. I found the more complex books totally incomprehensible and enough to have me reaching for the vino! I've got to do an MA qualitative methods course in the spring term -dreading it - does your uni offer anything like that in any of the depts in your uni? The course I'll be doing isn't run by my own dept but I was advised to do it by my supervisor.

Quote From walminskipeasucker:

Andy Field in my opinion. If you would like an electronic copy, please send me a pm.

I agree. I am a psychologist and its the best book going, plus his website which covers some stuff not in the book
www.statisticshell.com

S