The City of Birmingham

P

please advise me where this good night life is in Brum? I have the misfortunte to have to go up from time to time as my partners family live in soliholl & I have always found it to be really provincial & behind the times. Esp resturants & bars.

B

Need more details about what kind of thing you're into...the coolest place in my view is The Medicine Bar at the Custard Factory

M

The Medicine Bar at the Custard Factory. Sounds somewhat surreal!

P

Well as mentioned on the cuba thread, I am a big fan of cocktails, but at the ripe old age of 31 I have become a spirits snob.
A friend took me to Mojo's in Leeds a few weeks back ( aledgely Chris Moyles favourite bar, so I should have known it would be amiss...) and I was served up the worst mojito I have ever tasted - two mouthful and I couldn't drink it, the rum was so awful - had to get the bar to swap it for a bottle of corona.) Plus this sounds abit ironic considering essentially I AM a student, but I hate studenty places.
Despite my east-end roots I am an uptown girl these days & like a ponceY-bar / resturant.
I used to go to the Medicine bar in Shoreditch years ago when I lived around there - remember a cracking night with Norman Jay. Is the one in Brum, owned by the same folk?
As for food - if someone else is paying I really like swish pan-asian like Yoatcha, Hakisan or Roka in London + i couldn't afford a glass of water in any of those places on my teaching salary!

M

Mojito - is that the one with rum and mint? And I completely understand what you mean about studenty places - most are either cheap 2 for 1 dives, or places which try desperately hard to be trendy, but are filled with the most poncy, stuck up undergrads you could ever try to avoid.

H

Hey Matthew, just a good guess, he really is a big name in that dept, always has press interviews when his research is published. He's very motivated by his research, guessing he will make an excellent supervisor (if you get the funding).