The ultimate question

C

SO...what do potential PhD supervisors look for apart from academic brilliance?

I have had 3 interviews and 3 rejections. Whenever I ask for feedback, they always say "because you dont have enough experience." Im beginning to think this is some sort of general excise used aongst supervisors. Surely my CV was read and noted that I dont have that much experience...so why call me for an interview?

Also..I have had a phone interview and then invited for an open day...and then rejected. Leaving me puzzled!

Any help would be most appreciated!!!...

P

is it a science studentship you're applying for? If so then they are very competitive and usually require a masters nowadays along with a a 2:1 or above

C

Hiya !
yes its a Neuroscience PhD. I have a 2:2 with a MSc. Both in Neuroscience

P

I cant understand why they havent offered you one then, especially if you've completed a masters, I'd say you have enough experience with both an honours lab project and masterslab project!!
maybe try a research assistant post in the meantime, you may be offered one 'in house' then. i think some phds arent even advertised but already taken by people working in the department.

C

Thanks but it doesnt really answer the question of "what do PhD supervisors look for apart from academic brilliance?"

B

Hi Cortex

Not that I'm an expert by any means, but judging by my relationship with my own supervisor...