THESIS SUPERVISOR!!!

I

Hi all,

I will soon apply for PhD and I have a big concern; the thesis supervisor. I think that during one's PhD, a good supervisor plays a key role; good, in terms of scientific abilities, and also good in terms of his/her approach to the student. For the scientific part; I suppose it is easier to have an idea, as you can check the papers etc. Yet, character-wise, if you write to professors online, then apply and then go, start working with him/her; a surprise is waiting. In the same country, there's a chance to ask around, but if the professor's in a far away place; how can one take precautions? What do you suggest?

T

Hey Istanbul Girl just for moral support I have had exactly the same thoughts/reservations as yourself. What's worse is I want to do my PhD at the very institution I am studying my Master's at just now and still haven't found someone I would be 100% comfortable working with. I am halfway through my Master's as I am studying it part-time and will have to start emailing prospective supervisors very soon. It's a nightmare. I just haven't found the perfect match yet. I am told the perfect match does not exist. I think I will have to make compromises no matter what happens. It sucks.

I

Hi Timmy! I hope everything turns out well for you and me and everyone in search of that good, understanding supervisor! Of course there's no perfect match, or if there is, it happens only for a few really lucky fellas! I hear stories about supervisors who almost 'bully' the student; think they can say everything just because they've got the power, or exploit the student by making him/her work too hard, and do not provide the necessary support when it comes to writing reference letters or helping him/her with postdoc issues and so on. I have hard many cases about the supervisor discouraging the student, or leaving him/her completely lonely about the problems in the thesis, saying harsh things if there's a mistake, and things like that.