Time spent on your PhD

L

Just wondering how many hours per week, on average, people spend working on their PhDs, either in the office or at home?

K

Hey! Pretty much full time work hours I guess plus whatever else is required! So at least 8 hours per day in the office or testing, sometimes a bit more in the evening, sometimes weekends and sometimes not. I go through hectic patches and slightly less hectic patches and like to take some time to chill at the weekend if I can so I don't burn out, but sometimes PhD stuff doesn't fit from 9-5 Mon-Fri as most of us will know! KB

B

I'm a part-time student and am allowed 6 years to complete. I've spent a ridiculously small amount of hours on the PhD though. In the early years it was typically 10 hours a week. Now, as I near the end, it's dropped to typically 5 hours a week. I'm seriously ill long-term, getting worse as time goes on, and have very few good hours in which to be productive. Still, I've nearly finished.

S

I'm also doing my PhD full-time, and spend about 50+ hours a week on it. I work on it every day, with the occasional morning or evening off. This also includes time goofing off on forums!

Hi Lilbo,