To do a PhD or not

M

I am a msc student at a UK university in IT related subject. My supervisor for dissertation has advised that I go for a PhD once I have completed msc. I don't know what to do. I have told her that there are a lot of scare stories on the internet and she has told me to take no notice on the internet as it is not reliable source/information

I tried to explain her that i dont want to be a lecturer or even a researcher. She has advised that I do not have to stay on academia or go to do a research related job.....

She has promised me that she will be a good supervisor and will help alot as none of her phd students have ever failed. she will guide me all the way....

i trust her but cant say i believe everything she says....

i dont understand if phd can be useful in a non academic or research related field after graduating

I am getting to a point where i am going to tear my hair off

Please someone shed some light into the whole thing

D

What do YOU want to do? What are YOUR hopes for the future? What interests YOU? Where do YOU see yourself in five years time? You need to do what will make you happy or at least what you think will make you happy. A PhD is a big undertaking and you would need to find your own reason for doing one, don't do one just because it has been suggested by someone else.

Time to bung up that link to my blog again. Have a read and see what you think but bear in mind I don't pull any punches. It is a big undertaking, but a doable one provided you have a structured approach and good support.

The fact she has picked you out and made this recommendation to me shows she has faith in you to see the process through. However, as Delta says it's about what YOU want to do.

http://www.wearthesis.talktalk.net/

Ian (Mackem_Beefy)