Topic choice

I

I was wondering how people set about choosing the subject of their PhD. I understand that for some, this will be an extension of undergrad/Master's work or simply just an interest.

However for those who were not completely set on a topic from the start, how did you decide? Psychology is my interest, but there are many different areas which particularly catch my eye. Did you find a researcher whose work sounds interesting or maybe you looked for projects/advertised posts generally?

Any relevant information appreciated.

K

Hi Ishi! I am in my 2nd year of a PhD in Clinical Psychology, doing research with people with Alzheimer's disease. Where are you up at the moment- are you doing your undergrad or MSc? For me, I got interested in dementia through a final year module for my BSc. I then decided to stay on at the same uni so that I could do my MSc research project in dementia, and very early on in my MSc I approached my supervisor and told her that I wanted to do a PhD in something dementia-related, but that I wasn't sure exactly what. I was lucky in that my sup already had a few ideas about new research that needed to be done which would be suitable for a PhD project, so we talked about various ideas and then I was able to select more specifically what it was I wanted to research, and we designed the project together from there and applied for funding. It is hard- I can think of loads of things in Psychology that I would love to do, and it's such a broad subject. I guess it is important to think first about which field you want to be in- clinical, developmental, cognitive, neuroscience etc, and also think about what you want to spend your time doing. Do you want to work with patients? If you do, then what kind of patients? Do you want to do quantitative or qualitative work? What sort of methodology interests you- do you want to be doing interviews, using neuropsychological tests, using fMRI? There are lots of things to think about but go for somethi