Tough decision

I

======= Date Modified 10 30 2009 19:30:56 =======
======= Date Modified 10 30 2009 19:30:22 =======
I'm in the lucky position of having two PhD offers, both in structural biology, one at Oxford (Wellcome Trust, 4 years funding) and the other at Cambridge (MRC-LMB, 3 years funding although slightly less per year) but I just cannot decide which to go for. I have been an undergraduate at Oxford for the past 4 years. Does anyone have any opinions or advice about making my decision, things to consider etc.?

M

Maybe you should base your decision on how well you get on with your potential supervisors and which project appeals to you more?

S

first of all, what a nice choice to have, lucky you!
secondly, i agree with melsie, how well you get on with your supervisors is vital to how well you will do in your phd! go with your gut instinct as to which project really feels 'right' for you.
as i understand it, the wellcome trust phd's include a year of taught classes at the beginning, kind of like a masters, which is why they are funded for 4 years instead of 3. so do you want to be tied in for that extra year? on the other hand, four years funding instead of 3 could be a really good thing!
some people say that you should try to go somewhere different for your phd rather than stay at the same institution as it looks better for your cv, but sometimes staying put can be an advantage as you already know people in the dept, know your way around the labs, know where to go for support etc.
money shouldn't be an issue when choosing a phd but unfortunately as the money is so poor it does make it an issue for most people, so perhaps the slightly more generous stipend may help to sway you towards oxford? every extra penny helps when you are surviving on a low income!