Two faced academics *VENT*

L

By 'two faced' I mean academics who are nice and fakely polite to you but say god knows what behind your back,

So I had the same teaching assistant position for the past 3 years during my PhD. I'm a part time student so I have 3 more years left. Anyway, now it's the fourth year and I assumed I will get it again as it's with the same lecturer and I never got a negative comment about doing this (at least not that I know of). Lecturer informs me that I won't be needed this year, she has a new person and I should take a break. I mean WTF? Obviously my last teacher's eveluations weren't good as there is no other reason I can think of for being 'replaced'.

What really upsets me is that I would appreciate it much more if I was told that my teaching evaluations weren't good, or some of the negative comments from students so that I can improve in the future when I manage to get another teaching position. I have been obssesed with trying to think of what I did wrong last year that I didn't do for the first two years. I can't think of anyhting :(

It is not just this lecturer either, pretty much everyone in our department is like that. I get tons of empty praise from my main supervisor but when I had my first y ear viva upgrade, I nearly failed. It's scary that supervisor told me I was doing brilliant and it was so far from the truth.

Now on the same note, I have been working hard to improve since the viva and I am again getting very positive comments from the main sup ( I have two other supervisors but they really couldn't care less). However, I do not know if I have *really* imroved or I only *think* that I have improved since I can't really trust her comments. I'm very frustrated.