two phd degrees

S

hello everyone,

i am now a 2nd year student in Economics, in one of school in norway.
i am thinking to apply for another PhD, now in Business and Finance for some reasons:
1. i want to go to top rank school (stupid reason maybe)
2. looks like finance/business graduate earn much more money
3. some of good business school offers PhD in business with scholarship and stipend.

My Questions:
1. do you think it is a good intention?
2. will the board of admission consider person who applies PhD and in the same time already had phd?

Thank you all

S

addendum: i am now 2nd year in PhD program in economics

U

IMHO, I would advise finishing you current PhD in economics, and then getting a high paid job in finance.

Two PhDs concurrently is impossible, and having two PhDs is pointless.

Maybe an MBA after the 1st PhD.

C

Hi Sheva, I am not in your field, but I think that it would be a faux pas to leave your current study for a new one. You are already in your second year and probably you have developed your research to a good point already. Moreover, I personally don't think that the hypothesys - because this is what it is - of earning more money in the future can be the main reason for a change. But this is only my opinion of course.

A

A PhD is essentially a period of research training. A person who has successfully completed a PhD should not need to do another one!

G

1. No.
2. No.

You may want to address your reasoning for such a fools errand.

B

There are some instances where two doctorates are plausible. My friend (on whose computer I am typing this) already holds a PhD in experimental psychology (a typical research PhD), but is currently studying for a DClinPsy (clinical psychology doctorate, which is a professional training in psychotherapy) like my girlfriend. However, these are two very different qualifications, and he is learning different things from them.