Uncertainty Beginning a PhD

W

Hi,

I would appreciate some advice from more seasoned students than myself.

I begun a PhD a month ago. It is in Bioinformatics and involves a 1.5 year attachment abroad in a research institute followed by 1.5 years back at my home university. My principle supervisors will give direction to my studies from my home university. The PhD was offered from the same university that I studied my Masters.

So far I have very mixed feelings about everything and I am quite confused. About a month ago I arrived in this new city to begin the PhD. Living here is not what I expected and since the moment I arrived, I have wanted to go somewhere else. Apart from work it is to me a very boring place. The other thing is that I am studying at an Institute rather than a University so there just isnt as much else going on. On the other hand the package here is good, funding and I think it would give me a bit of diversity. I find the science very interesting and it is a new field I want to learn lots about and get new skills in for a career in Bioinformatics.

In addition I am struggling with some health problems following an accident I was involved in. It can make it difficult to work sometimes and the institute have not been too sympathetic here. There is an operation that could really help me but it could take months to schedule that and I would have to return to the UK to have it done on NHS. So I do not know whether I should quit now before I dig myself into a deeper hole by being here.

I just feel I have begun this PhD while my life is off balance, but at the same time I think if I stopped or found a job it would not be fulfilling. My supervisors are very keen for me to get this research underway and I feel pressure, I am not sure if I am ready.

Thoughts?

R