Uncertainty in a PhD

L

hang in there buddy!
i also drifted into my phd, because i didnt know what to do after my msc. and had no idea what phd really did involve. and just went for it, because it was in biology. how naive i was! i didnt even understand what the phd was about! after one year, i proved that it was not going to be successful and had to start on a new project, in year 2.

P

Thanks Laura, It seems to be a common issue for PhD students, that they go into a PhD not knowing what to expect. I know I that when I was an undergraduate and doing my MSc there was nothing else in my mind except to go onto a PhD, It something I had wanted to do since I started my first degree. But once you actually begin a PhD you realise or I did anyway that a PhD is nothing at all like being an undergraduate or MSc student. The dreams of doing something that is ground breaking and relevant soon faded away as I sit in front of my computer day after day working on something that nobody cares about( even my supervisor told me my project is nothing special). I just wish I spent more time to choose a PhD that I would enjoy and not accept the first thing that was offered. Guess hindsight is a wonderfull thing.

P