Uni of East Anglia or Uni Bath for Int'l Development

M

======= Date Modified 15 May 2011 15:50:48 =======
I am an American looking to study in the UK. I was accepted to University of East Anglia, University of Bath, and Newcastle. I narrowed it down between University of East Anglia and University of Bath. I would like to go to UEA since their International Development Department is in the top 3. But I have been turned off by them as of late. When I ask questions, its like pulling teeth and the questions never really get answered. Its like I am speaking a different language (one they don't understand). However, as an international student who is going to be paying cash ($25K to be exact) I should be entitled to ask questions and have them answered. If this is the way they are treating me now, how will they treat me when I am there?

Someone help!

M

Hi, I did my first degree in international studies at UEA, though that was back when it was called 'Development Studies'. :) I loved the course and would highly recommend it. However, that was a while ago now (quite a long while ...) and I don't know how/if it has changed.

As regards the 'rudeness' you have encountered, I really can't comment on that. When I was there everybody was very friendly and helpful. I have lived in the UK for more than 20 years and I have to say I really don't find the British rude at all! There are individual exceptions, of course, but you find that in every country. Maybe try contacting them again? Have you just been talking to one particular person? Maybe it's worth trying somebody else?

Good luck with whatever you decide to do. :)

B