Very annoyed!

D

On this forum I've made it clear that I've no real interest in an academic or research career and that I'm doing a PhD to give me something to do and a better income as opposed to being unemployed. That said, I have taken it very seriously as I feel it only right to earn my money. I've constantly made it clear to my supervisors that I will work as hard as it takes to complete in three years as I will need to finish at this time. I even offered to start a bit early, before the official start date, but wasn't taken up on it. I also recently learned that big charges have been put on students who run over the three years (but they give a few months grace). Even though I've been very honest with them I don't feel they've taken what I've said on board. I haven't had any supervision in many months and although I worked to achieve certain things to help progress the project, once my part was completed I didn't get any feedback for months. Very, very little has been achieved and I'm angry and soul destroyed because I know this will put much more pressure on me later on. I work best steadily and consistently but not under pressure. They have recently acknowledged that there hasn't been much progress and I'm hoping this will change things for the better (they don't seem to be blaming me).

I actually feel physically ill as a result because I know I can't, and am not prepared to, continue after three years. I feel guilty even though I've done nothing wrong. In an ideal world I wouldn't be doing this PhD but quitting is not an option as I need the money and the way I see it things are not my fault as I know I have tried as much as I can from my end.

Not sure what I want people to say but be gentle as I'm feeling fragile and disappointed.:-(