Want to go for PhD - Never found job

M

Hello everyone!

I graduated at the height of the recession and unfortunately never found a job in the sciences, slipped into depression and took any crappy retail job that was thrown at me. I have a bachelors in biology and I just need a lot of advice. Science is my passion but I feel now it's too late to go back to school and that I have zero chance of being taken.

I don't want to be as miserable as I am right now for the rest of my life. I loved college, and that's the first time I was ever happy in school, and it was all because I was learning what I wanted to.

Is 29 years old with zilch for experience a death sentence or should I at least try?

Please help!

T

It's never too late. I had a 5 year gap between my degree and PhD working in a non-related job. I do have a MSc though and I'd been studying for other non-science qualifications in between.

I'd recommend that you really think carefully that this is the correct path for you. Are you in the US? If you are, I think it's even more difficult for you to get back into science, since most PhD students in the US have a lot of lab experience.

Maybe you should consider an MSc first? You will probably have to finance this yourself though, or take a graduate loan.

If you're really serious about it, it can be done.

Good luck!

H

Age is not a barrier. Lack of experience may be, but can be rectified. TreeofLife's suggestion of doing an MSc is a good one. For one thing it would help you make connections and get your foot back in the door. For another it would help you get up to speed. Even 5 years is a long time in biosciences in terms of what changes, and bear in mind you will be competing with fresh graduates for PhD places.