Ways of Working

S

Okay so I'm a full time PhD student and I work best at home but I often feel this is often looked down upon from the other PhD students I speak to (who work in the office all week). One of them in particular keeps asking, ' Are you full or part time?' Ha!

Despite their hints, I had only just learned that two of the PhD students didn't start their experiments until year two. I started my PhD in October - I'm data collecting for two experiments and are in the process of planning my third. Clearly I'm doing something right...

But I'm a little stressed today - the task I had planned I'm just not in the frame of mind to do. In fact, I'm just not in the frame of mind to do anything. Which makes me feel guilty. But when I'm like this it's best to just leave it until another day - anything I come out with when I'm like this is just crap. The inspiration isn't there. But it makes me more stressed.

Has anyone else felt like this?

A

Hi Stephanie

I work at home pretty much all the time as well and really just go to college to show my face, remind them that I'm still around, and of course get a bit of printing and photocopying done;-). Occasionally I have gotten those hilarious (sic) sarcastic comments but as you say, you are ahead in terms of your experiments etc so it's obviously working for you.