What are my chances?

I

Hello, I'm new here and I was wondering what my chances of getting a PhD were. I know that nobody can give a definite answer because everywhere is different, but I got a 2:1 for my undergrad degree, and I've just finished a Masters and got a distinction for that. How much help will that be? Thanks for any answer =)

I

Oops lol I hadn't quite finished.
I shoulda said that I already have been offered one, which anybody who saw my other topic will know, but will that always be a one off, or will my chances be similar everywhere?

M

I don't know about the area you're going for, but I'd have thought you'd be a prime candidate, with the qualifications that you've gained.

K

What are you looking to do it in? Your record sounds pretty good. If it's any help I got a 2:1 and have a masters but didn't get a distinction - in fact the research/dissertation part of my MSc was my lowest mark, and I've just submitted my PhD thesis - in Psychology.

I guess it hinges on what you want to study. Sciences tend to be more well funded and with your results I guess it wouldn't be too problematic. However funded PhDs in Arts and Social Sciences are more scarce, and I'm guessing that competition is more fierce for those subject areas. Therefore a First class hons in an undergrad may be a necessity. Perhaps someone else can advise. Overall, I think your chances would be pretty good based on your overall results.

I

Thanks for the replies.

It's actually in biological sciences - I don't really know how that compares to other sectors in terms of funding :s

Well done for submitting your thesis, Kronkodile =) How do you feel now that you've handed that in? I think that's pretty inspirational for other people, especially those who think the research part of their courses didn't go quite so well. Congrats, and thanks to you both.

M

Which area specifically, i00t2000?

I