What are PhD fees for?

O

I did a part-time arts PhD which took 7 years. It cost £900 a year. I don't live in the city where the university is based and so had to commute for four hours (there and back) for supervision a few times a year. Because of this I wasn't able to use the university's library, computer suite or anything else available. So I'm wondering what the £900 fee was for. Surely not just for the services of my supervisor, which were minimal. Even if I had used the library and computers would this really justify the £900 fee?

G

If you're thinking of asking for some chance I think I have more chance of partnering Wayne Rooney in the Man Utd front line than them giving you some back. That said I thought fees stoped after so many years [5]?

G

That should of course read 'some back'. Pulling an alnighter.

C

I'm not sure, but with postdocs a lot of money is paid for departmental office staff salaries from the research council. I'm guessing salaries of these staff, admin costs and equipment.
It is extortionate though....

K

Hi,

I think the tution fees is for university operation and running.

And for those who is doing lab-based, we have to pay bench fee. does anyone know what iis it for?

K

The bench fee is for renting the bench space, and for covering the cost of materials such as chemicals. I got a 1000 quid budget with mine fees, and no bench fees fortunetly for my masters.

O

Thanks for your replies.

It still seems a lot of money to pay for the overheads of a university. When you take into account the thousands of undergraduate and postgraduate fees the university takes each term, the overhead costs and staff salaries must amount to just a fraction of the total income the university receives from fees.