What to do?

K

I am a PhD student and have almost a year left. I have two supervisors who have been guiding me as if there are no issues or problems with me. But in every review meeting, they have always commented negatively about me and that gave me a shock. I wish that the supervisor could be a little upfront if they are not happy with me. I tried to talk to them once but they just brushed it off. I don't know if I should discuss it with them once but I know they will never discuss it at my face. I don't know if I should take up this discussion. Any suggestions having been in my situation? I am lost because I do not know what have I done wrong.

D

Hi Katie,

What are the negative comments about? It appears you at the end of your 2nd or beginning of your 3rd year. Is it about the direction of the study, your research outputs/presentations or your thesis chapters?

Be more specific and people can advise. It might be that they are trying to advise you but not necessarily being considerate.

Another way to approach it is - is to talk about future plans. You can kind of tease out their perceptions of where you are professionally.

All the best,
Also Katie

K

It seems this has been going on since the first year but I was not aware of it. I came to know recently. When we meet there does not seem to have any issue with me and has been guiding me as if there was not the least of the problem. I know I was not perfect student because I had to learn skills to carry on my PhD and it took me quite sometime.

A

Sometimes supervisors, when in a meeting with other academics, will be more critical of work because it - basically - covers their a**.