Where's my motivation?!

J

Hello all! I hope you are all well and really hope you can help me! I am now in the second year of a four year, funded PhD... last year I completed an MRes and worked on my PhD but this is the first year I have to be completely concentrating on my PhD ideas - I am a social science peep. Anyway, I have my MPhil/PhD transfer in May and have to write my first chapter for it. I did an incomplete draft and then went on holiday, came back all refreshed and ready to work and... nothing! I cannot sit still! this has been going on for 3 weeks and am really worried. I am so daunted and don't know where to start - this chapter is so big and important. Also, I think I work best under tight deadlines and May is ages away - I am concerned that I shall waste this time and end up hugely stressed in a month's time! I am silly I know but does anyone suffer this? I love my work - I just can't face it! please help! x

K

Jayney, if it's any consolation I know exactly how you feel. I have experienced this as well. Although I enjoy my work immensely and feel so grateful that I'm able to do what I enjoy, I have come up against at least one serious (extended) writing block and a few little ones as well. Often the problem is not that you have no ideas but rather too many and don't know where to start. You mention the size of the chapter- focusing on this can bring on paralysis. I find it's better to cut things down into small sections in order to write first, then worry about the structure and fitting things together once it starts to develop. I suspect also that you are a perfectionist. Wanting your writing to be excellent from the outset can make it extremely difficult to 'just start'. Maybe just write freely to begin with, with frequent revisions as you move along- this might loosen things up. Good luck

C