Why am I being rejected?

P

Okay, here's the issue. I graduated in 2001 from a not-so-great university (got a 2.i) but with a great sandwich year managed to get a job at Pfizer. I've now been there for 10 years as a high-flying scientist and am leaving the company with a fantastic skill set and a brilliant set of recommendations (plus a killer CV).

I've been looking for a PhD since March 2011 (a little late?). Have sent a few applications through for PhD's I know I can breeze through but for some reason I'm not getting anywhere. I'm either getting the silent treatment or rejection emails. I can't seem to understand why...is it that I'm too old?...they don't like my university?...or am I too experienced?

I'm beginning to think that I should give up on getting a project before October and go back to the world of work!

B

I'd ask the people who're rejecting you. It's ok to do that, and only they can really answer it.

But at a hunch I'd worry about the 10 year gap since your degree. Yes you have industry experience, but that study gap could alarm potential supervisors.

And your degree was a 2.1, so you are competing with people who got firsts. And you don't mention having a Masters, and some of the people you are competing with will have that too.

But keep trying. Then again only looking since March is maybe a bit short notice for starting this year. I'd have personally started looking earlier. And keep looking until you are successful.

Good luck!

I think you must live very near me. I'd say, judging by the current state of pfizer, they may be assuming that you've been made redundent and then making more assumptions about why.