Why did you do your PhD?

D

Following on from other threads, I think it would be interesting to know why people are doing or did a PhD. Please answer by picking the response you most agree with and expand with comments, if you wish.

T

I ticked "Because I want to be a researcher/academic" but it was only about 70% that - 30% was passion for the topic. (I would have said 60/40 but the extra 10% is just loving doing research, so I suppose that's part of the researcher/academic thing...)

P

After I finished my masters my supervisor offered me the chance to do a funded PhD so I took it. With hindsight, I should have looked more into what this would entail and how I would not have any life for the next four/five years!

D

I picked "Mainly because it was funded and I was unemployed". I had hoped it would see me through the recession but three years on it doesn't look like it!

well, I was unemployed, and the offer of funding was great. In my field, where you can be an academic or a practioner in the 'real world' the academic community holds a lot of sway and there are tight networks - if you're in on that then finding a job in the practioner field is easier, as you know the right people. So at the time it was the best offer I had in terms of developing a network of people I could work with (although I did actually turn down a better paid practitioner job to do it). BUT, overall I love research, I've never thought 'I want to be an academic' until recently though. I didn't think I could cut it tbh, but now I can see why I was drawn to it.

I also love working at home ;-)

D

I can tolerate most research if I'm allowed to do it on my own terms (work where and when I want).

I love research when I'm allowed to study my own research interests.

I love working from home and dread ever having to go back to 9 to 5 but hate the thought of short term research contracts and moving around every year or so. :-(

S