Woe is Me

P

First off, just want to say that I'm so glad this site exists! It helps a great deal just knowing other people are suffering, too. I know that sounds awful, but I'm not trying to be mean. I know you understand. Anyway, just wanted to express what I have had to deal with and get feedback if possible. I'm a PhD student in Canada. Here the average number of years to finish is 5 years. The university will kick you out in 7.5. Very different from the 3 and 4 year-long PhD's I've read about - you're so lucky! :) Anyway, I crossed the 4-year mark a few months ago and since then have been very anxious (and almost desparate) to finsih. A few problems lie in my way: 1. I have a very hands-off supervisor, 2. the subject I work on is completely different from my lab and my supervisor's interest/expertise, 3. for the past 4 years I have been working in a separate building from my supervisor and meeting him every few weeks, and. 4. My supervisor, though he has the best intentions, is an incredibly harsh individual. He'll just make you feel horrible about yourself to get his point across, 5. We have experienced 2 lab moves in my 4.5 years and that has put some strain on progress. Anyway, with all that said, we're now all in the same building - and room! :) Sometime in April I scheduled a thesis advisory committee meeting for early May. I guess the proposal that I sent to everyone a week before the scheduled meeting wasn't up to par and it alarmed my supervisor (though I sent it to him before I sent it out to my committee members and he said he had nothing to comment on), and so he postponed the meeting for a couple weeks (it's coming up next week) and has proceeded to spend almost everyday with me to 'get me on track'. This is fantastic in one way because I've never had that before. He actually listened to what my hypothesis was, why I thought that, etc. And I gave him papers to read to help him understand. He challenged me too which helped my reading. Why I am so sa