working & funded pHd?

S

hi, i have been wanting to do a phd for ages but as a single mum with 2 kids it has never seemed financially viable. i work in the construction industry and we have had a massive down turn since the recession. Its got me thinking about proposing that i drop my hours at work and asking if they will support me doing a phd. i am thinking work and get paid for 2 days and then also have the normal funded phd around 13k.

i see phds that are supported/ financially enhanced by business quite often

does this sound a viable plan? what havent i thought about?

L

It probably depends on the university, but depending on where you get your funding there is likely a cutoff of what you can earn on top of that. For example, I can only earn 2k a year on top of what I get funded, so very little and certainly not a part-time wage. If I were to earn more than 2k then the funding would be reduced by that amount. So I have no incentive to, with the university funding designed to get me to focus entirely on research.

Maybe this isn't the norm, but I suppose they see the average candidate as not needing both the funding and an income at the same time. Obviously, this isn't the case when you have 2 kids. Hopefully someone else has a more positive outlook for you. I take it if you are supported by a private company then you could have both sources of income.

S

Not sure if your business would support you; depends if they get anything out of you having a PhD. If you got funding then your stipend is not taxed and also, as a student, you wouldn't have to pay council tax. No idea how both of these things combine, but your 13k is worth a lot more than in a 13k job.

I'm not certain you would be allowed to work 2 days a week on a full-time funded PhD - there are normally restrictions on hours outside of PhD for funded students. Have you considered part-time?