Working part-time

B

Hello guys,

Now, I've just finished my two year full-time Msc and I've been awarded a part-PhD studentship by a University in UK. My biggest worry is, I am an International student and I have to foot part of the school fees from my studentship so will end up living on residues. I am planning to take up a part-time job to raise at least £250 every month to supplement and I believe I will be stable in that way. Questions: Is there anyone who's in the same situation here? How easy or difficult is it? My supervisor is aware of my situation but he's not able to help any much. Please, advice...

Thank you

P

I work around 9 hrs a week and more in the next two years. Have just completed first year, and am hell benton a 3 yr phd (Depsite financial pressures) and concrete CV stuff (which has thankfully been happening). Must mention, I have a phenomenal supervisor.

Anyway, my work is RA work ona very relevant project. Working part time during PhD is phenomenally hard!

B

Hi PhDbug,

Thank you for your reply. I am also planning to do around 9-10 hrs a week and I should be comfortable that way. My envisaged supervisors seem to be understanding and they are very much aware about my case. My PhD is in Engineering.

Regards

S