Working with Post doc

J

Hi

My supervisor has appointed a post doc from hell, this is his second posting at my University under different supervisors and different science research topics, but he is an arrogant son of a b....ch!!!

His reserach topic is very similar to mine, but he always has be in competition with me to get the correct results first to my supervisor, he talks to me crap, but this time I have stood my ground and wrote a stiff letter to my supervisor as well as talk to him about his behaviour. My supervisor is a very passive individual , who doesn't like conflict.

I feel being a woman scientist in a male environment is tough. Has anybodyu else felt like this.

S

Somebody I used to get on with has starting blanking me because they've found out I'm studying something in the same field as them (completely different topics though). Some people are very competitive when they find out they're doing similar research to someone else and its their insecurity that causes this behaviour - unfortunately they can't keep their 'issues' to themsleves and so they aim to out you down to make themsleves feel better.

I would try and avoid him at all costs -I know that is easier said them done - but he won't change and the best thing to do is not give him an opporutnity to discuss work with you outside the professional capacity as it will just wind him up and he'll start acting like a child again

J