Worried I won't finish

C

I'm in my 4th year now (Biochemistry), 3 years funding and as the title says. I've had a lot of problems with depression and anxiety (getting help) and don't think I am cut out for academia but it didn't seem right to give up after 1 or 2 years. I don't feel I know my subject properly and I'm struggling, but pretty much on my own. I still don't know what I will do after my PhD.

I am supposed to demonstrate today/tomorrow and do a labtalk but I just want to avoid all of them. I have not made it off my couch today and have about 2 hours to call in "sick" for demonstrating. I feel I will humiliate myself if I do my labtalk as I don't know as much as I should (I changed projects after 2 years, was supposed to be doing a different project and don't have a relevent Chemistry background since about A-level)

C

Cont'd...My supervisor doesn't take much of an interest in my project and no-one says anything when I take days off because I feel miserable. I've done an hour's work since last Wednesday.
I don't know if I should ask for help or not as there is just a culture of working things out for yourself and survival of the fittest. I talked to my departent confidentially about problems with my supervisor in year 1 and I went to a committee meeting and people there knew about the "complaint" I had unknowingly made. If I start saying I have problems it will reflect badly on me :(

M

I think it will also reflect on you badly if you go and do the labtalk and mess it up badly because you are not as well prepared as you could have been.

Maybe it would help you to take some time off to figure out what you really want to do? It doesn't sound as if doing a PhD is what you really want to do, but then maybe it is, and you just need some time to figure it out.