Would you do it again?

X

I must admit, I'm quite nervous about post PhD life. I'm doing a PhD in the Arts and Humanities and I've heard it's fiercely competitive, acquiring a lecturing post.
A question for all of you: If you knew that you wouldn't get a lecturing position after the PhD, would you still do it?...because that's a thought I'm trying to contend with at the moment. Any feedback from you guys would be most welcome.

Q

“If you knew that you wouldn't get a lecturing position after the PhD, would you still do it?”

Putting it like that, the answer would be no. But I like to take things as they come. Many things can happen in three years – different opportunities can arise, you can’t predict what will happen to your health, your family, etc. I like to take each day as it comes and not speculate too far like that. But yes, I dream of an academic job and I haven’t even started my second PhD yet, hee hee (qv. the thread “I was forced to quit my PhD by both my supervisors”).

My dad recently told me “stay in that field. This field is going to be taking off in the future. Then you can sit in a nice comfy chair in your own office and fart, just like I do”. (He is 70 now and is still working… he took the industry route).

Q

My dad is very charming… (NOT) but the idea of having an acadmic post at the end of a PhD does drive my motivation for doing it in the first place. I know, I’ve seen the statistics. And no, I’m not deterred by them. But then again, I haven’t started yet. I may still change my mind….

G

I got my PhD ten years ago. Yes, it was a slog; yes I had no money; yes, I fell out with my supervisor and yes I nearly gave up (several times). It was worth it. I now have a fantastic job - I could never have dreamed of this before - and there is no way that I can regret any of it.