Writiing - how much and when?

J

I'm a part time PhD student so will be doing this over 5 years. My Head of Department (the uni where I work not where I am takign my PhD) has given me objectives linked to my PhD - present at an international conference this year, submit an article to a peer reviewed journal etc (which are fair enough) but he has also said write 10,000 words of PhD (Lit review) before December - is this reasonable? Should I be writing so much this soon? I have' t discussed timetables etc with my supervisors yet (got a meeting this week) but thought I'd canvass views first.
Chris

B

I'm part-time. I wrote my literature review within 3 months of starting. And I kept writing after that. Writing early will help you a lot later on. Quite frankly it's more important than other stuff like conferences and journal articles.

J

I agree that the PhD is more important than conferences etc but I am obliged to present at at least one conference and have one publication a year - this is required by my employer whether or not I am doign a PhD.

B

Ok but if those goals required for your employment, not your PhD, then take it out of your employment time, not the time you set aside for working on the PhD.

I just rechecked my literature review to see how long it was: 11,000 words + 4,000 footnotes. In case that helps. It also included some methodology and plans for the rest of the PhD.

J