Writing from abroad..call for testimonials

C

Hello!
I'm new in this forum and I am glad I found it!

BACKGROUND
I started my PhD in January 2012 in the UK, to be honest I've really enjoyed it. It has been a great opportunity to improve skills as a research, the team at the univ. is really supportive and I have very good (and "human") supervisors!
The first year was very challenging and required a lot of efforts. My boyfriend was living in France and to have a distance relationship was definitely hard! He joined me in October until now.
Now I'm in my second year and so I have around a year and half to analyse and write my thesis! :)
And my boyfriend needs to back to France in September, because of course he can't stop his career for me (and here in the UK he doesn't have job opportunities).

QUESTION FOR YOU:
So, I am deciding to go back to France between October and November this year, and write my thesis from there. And back frequently to UK (at least every 2 months) to have regular direct contacts with my supervisors and colleagues.

Is there anybody who experienced this? I'm interested to see what were the challenges? the concerns? the advantages? or other important aspects you felt during this time?

I think that to have some feedback from people who lived it might help me to create realistic expectation of this challenge!

Many thanks in advance,
Cheers*
S.

T

Hello Catr,

I hope you are well.