Degree awarding and PhD start date clash

T

Hi everyone,

Me again, and I feel a little stressed out. I have an interview for a PhD this Wednesday that I very much want, but only just noticed an discrepancy- My MSc is due to finish this September, and the PhD is set to start this September too! The thing is, at first I thought the supervisors were okay with this, but then i realised- the CV i have given them says i finish my MSc in August rather than September. Literally, just a one number mistake from a '9' to an '8' (as in August being -/08/14) and it was genuinely a mistake.

Now I'm worried it will look like I've actually lied about the dates and it will effect my interview if they ask about it- what should I do? Also, will my degree ending in September mean that I can't be considered for a degree starting in September (there has been no agree on the actual start date in September)?

C

I think you need to be honest if they ask. Try to find out the start date as it may be towards the end of the month.

There were people at my institution finishing off their masters when the PhD started. So it may not even be an issue. I take it it's not the same institution?

T

Quote From CR1980:
I think you need to be honest if they ask. Try to find out the start date as it may be towards the end of the month.

There were people at my institution finishing off their masters when the PhD started. So it may not even be an issue. I take it it's not the same institution?

No, its not the same institution, so they're not likely to know. And i know- I don't want to lie, and when i'm already nervous, i find it very hard to be anything other than honest. But I'm really worried that its going to look like I purposefully lied and it might lead them to dismiss me right then, because this PhD is literally exactly what I want to do.