Is PhD possible with pass Master Degree?

M

Hi, everyone I am an international student and really want to do a PhD in economics. But most likely I will only get a pass degree at University of Manchester this year. Is there any chance I can get into self-funded PhD program, maybe in less reputable universities? What universities should I look into? I do have 2:1 for my undergrad.

If I eventually got a merit degree, What is the chance then? I have friend with overall 60 plus but still got rejected by Man uni because he failed to achieve 60 in the first term.

Thanks!

T

You will get on to a self-funded program at most universities. They just want the money.

H

I would strongly caution against anyone doing a full-time self-funded PhD if their motivation is to improve their employment prospects. Is that your aim?

As a student of economics, I would encourage you to consider whether your investment (time, money) and the opportunity costs (loss of earnings, loss of chance to gain experience that employers would value more highly than a PhD) is worth it. Taking into account all of the above I estimate the total cost as upwards of £90,000 for a home student. Is that a worthwhile investment for whatever your end goal is?

TreeofLife's position may sound cynical but I wouldn't disagree.

M

Quote From HazyJane:
I would strongly caution against anyone doing a full-time self-funded PhD if their motivation is to improve their employment prospects. Is that your aim?

As a student of economics, I would encourage you to consider whether your investment (time, money) and the opportunity costs (loss of earnings, loss of chance to gain experience that employers would value more highly than a PhD) is worth it. Taking into account all of the above I estimate the total cost as upwards of £90,000 for a home student. Is that a worthwhile investment for whatever your end goal is?