Job/PhD Application: Bad A Levels/Good Degree

E

I'm hoping this isn't too long winded but I've posted this on a few other sites and unfortunately had no answers.

I graduated in October 2013 with a 2:1 in Ecology and Conservation from Anglia Ruskin. I'm naming the University as it might be useful.

I haven't done a masters (I'm trying to avoid it if possible) but I have been in the midst of applying for jobs and considering a few PhDs that have peaked my interest. My problem is I had a very bad experience when it came to my A Levels. I ended up with horrific results (DEE) due to being in a traffic accident (long story short a motorbike hit me on a pedestrian crossing... Wasn't pretty.) in the AS year and missing about four months of my AS year. There was a lack of support and communication with my sixth form on their part so when I returned I was stupidly behind and my AS results were not pretty. Then I had the added stress of retaking all my AS levels as well as doing my A2 levels at the same time. But this thread is about blaming others for my failure. Apparently I wasn't entitled to extenuating circumstances so my accident wasn't taken into consideration in any of the marking of my exams or coursework.

Nonetheless I still got accepted into Uni and fortunately had no accidents, and came out with a 2:1, which I'm content with even though when you think in hindsight it's an average degree in terms of the amount of people who get 2:1's. I got 67% overall.

My question is based around my A levels. Do any of you think my grades will have a huge impact of my acceptance into a job or PhD? I mean, for example in a cover letter, would it be worth mentioning why my A Level results were so poor? One of lecturers told me while I was still at Uni just to put what A Levels I did down on my CV, but leave the grade out and if they ask for the results I'll give them to them obviously. But I'm not sure whether that's the right thing to do?