PhD students (esp. Psychology) - What is your experience of research/academia so far?

R

Hi!

Firstly, apologies if my title question seems a bit weird/vague. What I really mean is a couple of questions, I suppose:

-What's your PhD topic? (just for interest)
-Where/when did you get the inspiration to "go for it" in terms of research/doing a PhD
-What did you do before starting your PhD (i.e. degrees/masters/research assistanting) and was it helpful/worth it? Additionally, anything you wish you had done, in hindsight?
-How has your Phd lived up to (or not) your dreams?

I'm just trying to gain a sort of general idea of what people feel has prepared them effectively for their own research in psychology.

Rookie

Hello! :) I'm doing a PhD in a health psychology related subject. I'll put my responses below...

Quote From Rookie37:
Hi!

Firstly, apologies if my title question seems a bit weird/vague. What I really mean is a couple of questions, I suppose:

-What's your PhD topic? (just for interest) - Experiences of prognostication and the transition point from active to palliative care in heart failure
-Where/when did you get the inspiration to "go for it" in terms of research/doing a PhD - Seeing friends doing a PhD, enjoying my own research, getting a good mark in my dissertation for both BSc & MSc which made me realise I can 'do' research...! Plus doing a couple of fairly menial jobs to make some money during my studies (shop work and v low level admin) which I hated...