PhD without a master in Europe

S

Hi, I'm doing my master in Computer Science in Italy.
After a period of Eramsus in UK the professor asked me to do a funded PhD with him without finish the master.
Is it good to start a PhD without the master?
Will be my PhD acknowledged in other countries without the master for a post-doc position or for continue with the academic carrer?

T

Do you mean you haven't finished your masters yet, or he is asking you to not to finish it ever?

Quite a few students start their PhD without quite finishing their master thesis, but they will go on to finish after about 6 months of starting their PhD.

It won't really make any difference to your future career whether you have a masters or not once you have your PhD.

Many students in the UK have a PhD without a masters.

S

For the Italian law is not possible to have in the same time the status of "Master student" and "PhD Student". I should finish the master in July 2016 (the MS is 2 years in Italy) but the professor asked me to start the PhD in October 2015.

So If I start the PhD I might continue the MS after that I complete the PhD. But I don't know if at that point, having a PhD, is worth it waste time to complete the MS in the same field!

I know that for the UK law is not important to have the MS for continue the career, I just want to know if in other European countries I could have bureaucratic problem if I don't have the MS.

Thank you very much!

D

I don't think that it will be a disadvantage. The PhD is valued higher as the Master. If you got your PhD, people will know that you would have easily finished the masters as well.