Second PhD?

A

It's quite a while since I posted here, but I thought I'd drop in again with a query for you all :)

I graduated with a PhD in Politics from the University of Liverpool in December 2011. My thesis focused on Irish Republican ideology. It had become abundantly clear well before graduation that getting into academia - particularly coming from a Politics background - was going to be very difficult indeed. For the past year or so I've done temporary administrative work and a little bit of freelance stuff on the side. But this has neither paid particularly well, nor been all that stimulating.

And now I've discovered that there are fully-funded PhD studentships on offer at a different university. Fees paid up front, £16,000 tax-free annual allowance. Throw in all the other discounts/exemptions you get as a student, that starts to look a very attractive prospect!

But would applying for a second PhD like this be a total waste of time? Would an institution be willing take on someone like me if my research proposal was good enough (I think it would be genuinely useful research, by the way - far more applicable to the 'real world' than my previous project).

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Ta muchly.

H

If your ultimate end goal is to achieve some kind of long term employment, then yes, this would be a waste of time. It would be unlikely to enhance your employability in academia (compared to, say, getting some papers/books published) and it would probably make you look unemployable to non-academic employers.

Sorry to be blunt, but I really can't see any merit in this route other than giving you something to do for three years.

A

No need to apologise for the bluntness. I want realistic replies.