Advise on Stipend Problem

R

I am in my second year of my PhD, and have been having stipend problems throughout the whole PhD.

The advert on the university website, to which I applied, stated my stipend amount, and that I would get £1000 annual increments. However, my supervisor now informs me that he 'made a mistake' and there will be no annual increments. In addition to this, my stipend is around £500 less per year than the amount advertised.

My supervisor tells me, that as I am a student, I have no legal rights with this, as it is not covered by employment law.

I cannot believe that this is true (well I am really hoping it isn't) as currently, I stand to get around £8,000 less over the course of my 4 year PhD, than I was led to believe when applying for, and accepting my PhD. This is a very significant amount of money to me and my family, and I feel like I am being taken for a bit of a fool, if they expect me to just write it off without trying harder to get at least some of it.

Does anyone have any ideas on what I can do?

Thanks in advance

H

Which country are you in? And what is the funding source (a studentship? funded through a programme grant?) That might have a bearing on the answer.

In the UK, a body called Research Councils UK set a minimum recommended amount for studentships funded through their subsidiaries. But I don't know if this is enforceable in law.

I started my PhD in 2011 and my offer letter clear stated that the stipend would increase by 1-2% per year. Then the public sector pay freeze kicked in and it never did. I did raise this once, but never got anywhere with it and felt too awkward to ask again.

B

I think the relevant document is not the advert but rather whatever sort of contract you signed. If it's in the contract you have rights, if not you don't really.

R