Can you drive me?

J

Hello everybody,
I got an admission from University of Warwick, Department of Computer Science, Degree of PhD.

However I am an international student, and the deadline of applying for scholarship was 2 month back :(

What do you advice me to do?
Where can I find a funiding for my PhD?

Thanks for all

G

Absolutely no easy answers to that question. Look here..http://www.findaphd.com/students/funding.asp. Also look through the forum for similar questions. It's often asked.

J

golfpro thanks for your comment, I really appreciate it, I'll have a look at the link you gave it to me, but I am really sad, cuz you know when things come to help, it's hardly to find someone to help, btw do you have any experience you can share?

G

Well nothing overly positive I'm afraid. Reading this forum will tell you the funding for UK stundents is very thin on the ground. For foreign stundents that's considerably more so. You'll probabaly come to realise that getting 'on' the PhD was the easy bit. Getting the funding is the hard bit. Arguably, the best sources of funding will come from within your own country. Good luck.

S

jo3an, i was in a similar situation last year. got accepted for a PhD but as late as June; also an international student; no funding in sight.

i decided to take the chance. i had some savings from working double jobs and figured i could make it for up to max. 9 months.

golfpro is right, it is hard to find funding in Britain. even holding a British passport makes no difference, since it is not nationality that makes you eligible, but exclusively residency.

so here my advice:
- start applying for funding right now. it's too late for government funding (research councils) BUT you might still have options, subject specific, like the Wellcome Trust. many of these options will be impossible once you have started your course.

S