Funding for a PhD in spirituality and Religion, where do I go??

T

Hi everyone,

Im a prospective PhD student and wish to pursue a piece of research in one of the following two fields:

1. The role of religion and spirituality in coping with COPD (Chronic obstructive pulmonary disease)

2. Are interfaith interactions disintegrating between 2nd and 3rd generation youth within the south asian community? And if they are, then is a difference in religious beliefs the cause?

I have already spoken to a professor within the university and he is enthusiastic about it and willing to take things further, but he has stated that there is very little funding available within the university and that I should look at approaching various organisations. But whom should I contact? I am absolutely lost in regards to this funding situation. Without funding, I am doubtful that I will be able to commit to the PhD, which would be a shame as I am passionate about the subjects.

Any ideas would be much appreciated! NEED FUNDING!

E

I have just replied to your post on my thread, saying I would be interested to hear more of your plans. And now I have!

The professor may know of research councils relevant to the area - I don't know much about them, would the subject fit into the ESRC's remit? (economic & social research council) I'm not sure. Search for research councils on google - it may come up with something interesting :)

T

Thanks Emma, Ive tried the ESRC, and although its only been a few days, ive not yet had a reply. I hope I find some funding.

Have you considered a part-time PhD? I am considering it, but I would then have the same problem of having very little money, im not sure where I could then go to find a part-time job, as I have a mortgage to pay and other costs to meet :-(

M