PhD Problems

N

Hi friends. This is the first time I am posting here. But I have been reading the posts and it seems one can actually get help here.
I am a second year PhD student. I have not attended any conference yet. I know it is important to attend these conferences and meet people and talk about your work but I am in a country in the middle of nowhere. Its an island and flying from here is very expensive. My supervisor does not have a lot of money neither. I dont know what should I do. I also feel stupid to have joined here in first place. But I like the kind of work I do and that was the reason I joined. Also from outside it looked like a big group with lots of money but since moved in the story changed. 5 people left the place in one year. I am very worried about my career. I do not want to be stuck here for my entire life. I want to get a job/Post-doc after this. What should I do? Was this the worst decision of my life?

T

You don't say what field you are in, but most fields can get funding for conferences. I got 1500 pounds to attend an international conference by joining 3 scientific societies for about 20 pounds each and then applying for their travel funds. You can also often apply directly to the conference organisers for scholarships.

N

Hi TreeofLife, thank you for replying. I am in Biological Science. I will check for the travel funds with the Conferences. But my concern is also that everyone is leaving the place. Out lab is almost empty now. I am the only PhD student here and 2 Post-docs, 2 technicians and 2 Profs (including my supervisor). This makes me nervous about being here. I have always had a good academic record. Also, for PhD I got call from almost everywhere I applied to. I want to continue my career in research after PhD. But I dont know if I will make it somewhere good.

H