self-funding? no?

L

Hi all!

After months of hard work and stress, I finally got an offer for a place!! (the one that I wanted most) (Btw, thanks to everyone answering my delirium questions at that period, esp. Keenbean once again!) BUT, I am an international student and in an area (humanities- modern languages) where funding is rare and competitive and all that... I had interviews at two universities and both of them went great, although I haven't applied formally to the other two yet, I think my acceptance is guaranteed.
I thought acceptance would give me some confidence in the funding issues but it's weighing me down even more now. I really want to do this phd and seems like I should as I got incredibly positive responses from all the potential supervisors I have contacted so far! I have full faith in my project and I want to stay in academia. Cynic that I am, I know what I want to do with myself for the first time in my life but I just don't know how clever it would be to self fund in the worst case? I'm hoping to get at least a fee-waiver, so I guess I can self-fund my first year but how are the chances to find funding the second year? I know it's a nobody-knows situation but are the chances slightly higher with publications and conference papers and a good record of first year?

Thanks for your comments!! Good luck to everyone,

leaf.

B

I self-funded the first year of my part-time humanities PhD. I was rather expecting to self-fund the whole thing, but won funding from AHRC for my second year onwards. Would you be eligible for AHRC funding? They have certain residence requirements. See their website. If not, what other funding options might you be eligible for? The universities you are applying to should be able to advise.

K

======= Date Modified 07 Feb 2010 14:12:33 =======